top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCati Aurelia

Hakuna Matata: Dashboard Edition


I thought I would do a small blog posting for tips and tricks of the dashboard and application in case anyone is having trouble figuring things out. I want to first state no Disney does not have a date listed when you will hear back by for PIs as for you CPs there is on the ‘thank you for applying’ letter (as a note it can also be found online as well).

How to see a job status?

Here is an example of a job posting, and the status of the position for the job. As you can see in this example the job status is closed that means the position has been filled, and this candidate is probably NLIC. If the position was open that means they are still selecting candidates for the position, and it has not yet been filled. Why is this important to know? Well for some of you candidates that have been NLICed it is an easy way to tell if you were NLICed due to a current intern staying or if there was some other reason. Now as for how to get to this on the new dashboard: First off go to the general page with all the postings. Then at the top you are going to see “Resumes: Edit” Click on the edit option, and from there you are going to click “continue” after that you are going to be brought to a job posting page. At the top of that page you are going to see a link called “Candidate Zone” click on it, and the second option will be a tab called “Job submission status” once you click on it you will be able to see the information in the example above.

How do I view closed job description postings? Now there used to be a way to do this on the old dashboard, but now with the new dashboard you are unable to view old job descriptions after they have closed. My suggestion is instead save a .PDF of it when you apply that way you will be able to have it on file. If you would like to give it a try though go to “Resumes: Edit” then on that page the third option will be labeled “History” which below it should say “View Submission” after that it should be up old job postings, but I have not been able to get it to work with the new dashboard. Where do I submit portfolios, transcripts, and etc.? The easiest way to do this is click “edit profile” on the top of the home dashboard screen from there it will pull up your profile information. The fourth tab says “attachments” click it, and attach all documents that are not resumes/cover letters to this area. If I submit a resume do I also have to put jobs in work experience? Yes, resumes are tailored (well hopefully) for what you are applying for, but they still want to know the last five jobs you have held. This is less related to your actually posting, and in my experience has more to do with the background check. What is the best way to attach documents (aka .pdf, doc, .gif, and etc.)? The best way to attach documents is a .PDF now I understand some of you are saying that is not an option due to (insert reason here). Well I will keep it simple majority of printers (have not had one that does not allow this) you can click “print” as we all obviously know, but instead of printing it gives you the option to “Save file as PDF” if you do that and save it then you have the PDF file version. If not the other best option is print, and scanning it that way the document cannot be edited. Can I edit the resume/cover letter attached to a posting? I have yet to figure out a way to do this (if anyone has please comment and let me know), but I will say as I said in the F.A.Q. this is why you should really perfect your resume and cover letter prior to submitting the application. I will simply say this if you have not had a phone screen yet then submit your updated information, and let the generic PI recruiting know. If you have had a phone screen then I’m sorry your information has been passed on, and the hiring manager is going to pull up the information used on the application. The only exception I know to this so far is if you do an in-person interview, and bring them a updated resume to reference. I heard about Disney’s 6 month application rule, does it apply to internships? I got this question in an email recently, and I figured I would address it here. Disney has a rule about only applying for one hourly position within a six month period, so basically any theme park roles. Now this does not apply to internship you can apply to as many as you are qualified for, and this includes you CPs as well. I will say though for you DCP applicants if you fail the Web-Based Interview you cannot apply for another CP for 6 months (so next round).

A bit of advice if you plan on applying for multiple internships create an Excel spreadsheet it will help you keep track of your progress. Now I will state this is not mine it does belong to another intern, but the idea is extremely helpful to keep track of your progress.

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Now Give Me the Secret of the F.A.Q. Part II

I have done the F.A.Q. section for the pre-offer stage, but I feel like I should do one for the post-offer, internship stage, and post-internship. Here are some common questions I have been seeing ove

bottom of page